National Baseball Congress Hall Of Fame

In 1990, after 55 years of great players, managers and administrators for the National Baseball Congress along with the Rich family, who had purchased the NBC in 1986, decided to begin recognizing some of the great contributors to the NBC legacy by creating the “National Baseball Congress Hall of Fame.”

The first NBC tournament was a huge risk on his part, as similar tournaments had failed miserably on both coasts.

The inaugural class was selected and inducted during the 1991 NBC World Series in Wichita, KS. It was much harder to decide whom not to include than whom to include among the first 12 inductees. The class was led by the legendary Leroy “Satchel” Paige, who won the first NBC title with his pitching prowess and his Bismarck, ND, Corwin-Churchills barnstorming, integrated ball club. Paige still holds the NBC record with 60 strikeouts in one tournament and a 4-0 record!

Also a can’t-miss selection was NBC founder Raymond “Hap” Dumont, who in 1934 convinced the City of Wichita to build Lawrence-Dumont Stadium in order to host a national tournament. The first NBC tournament was a huge risk on his part, as similar tournaments had failed miserably on both coasts. Paige, and support from the local media and the national publication The Sporting News, helped make the tournament an instant success.

A complete list of Hall of Fame inductee’s follows, complete with the year they were inducted. Many are household names. Some are remembered only by those who have followed the progress of the NBC over the years.


Bobby Boyd
Randall “Dee” Hubbard
“Scoop” Nunes


Bobby Bragan
Bob Broeg
Leo Mashak


H.A. “Red” Boucher
Mark McGwire
Ralph Winegarner


John Olerud
Dian Overaker
Kirk Vuscko


Jim Dietz
Tony Gwynn
Leonard Kelley
Jack O’Toole


Don Dennis
Mark Grace
“Baseball” Bill Gwinup
Carl Kentling


Sonny Cashion
Bob Cerv
Will Clark
Harold Pyatte


J.D. Schneider
Steve Shaad
Von Hayes
Robin Ventura


Robert E. Rich, Jr.
Melinda R. Rich
Herb Hess
Arnold Ashley
Andy Teter


Jess Bolen
Mike Dean
Burt Hooton
Dave Kingman


Betty Abbott
Mike Hargrove
Paul Roberts


Bob Carlile
Terry Elliot
Jerry Squires


Barry Aden
Bob Considine
Dick “Chief” Twyman
George “Lefty” Van Brunt


Augie Garrido
Clyde Girrens
Alvin “Boomer” Jones
Ken Marler
Taylor Thompson


Rusty Gerhardt

Loren Packard

Doug Stokke

Jack O’Donnell

Wayne Elliott

National Baseball Congress | (316) 265-6236 | 300 N. Mead, Ste 109 Wichita, KS 67202