2023 Hall of Fame Class Inducted - NBC Baseball Skip to content

Call: (316) 265-6236

NBC Baseball
300 N Mead Ste 109
Wichita, KS 67202
Get Directions


2023 Hall of Fame Class Inducted

(L-R) Roy Smalley III, Josh Robertson, Dick Martin (son of Joe Martin)


The National Baseball Congress inducted four new members into the National Baseball Congress Hall of Fame on Saturday night as part of their Championship Night festivities.

On hand at Eck Stadium in Wichita to collect their awards were Josh Robertson, Roy Smalley III, and Dick Martin, son inductee Joe Martin. Mike Harkey, currently a bench coach for the New York Yankees, was not able to attend in person and accepted his induction virtually.

The National Baseball Congress Hall of Fame was started in 1991 to recognize the men and women who have made a lasting impact or contribution to the NBC. The NBC Hall of Fame includes ten members that are also in the National Baseball Hall of Fame: Satchel Paige, Tony Gwynn, Ozzie Smith, Tom Seaver, Whitey Herzog, Don Sutton, Bob Boone, Pat Gillick, Buck O’Neil and Dave Winfield.


About the 2023 Inductees:

Mike Harkey

Mike Harkey was a two-time NBC World Series All-American in 1985 and 1986, playing both for the Eureka Humboldt Crabs and the Fairbanks Goldpanners. In 1985 with the Humboldt Crabs he pitched 17 innings and gave up only one earned run, with 16 strikeouts and three walks, and was the NBC World Series Leading Pitcher. In 1986 with the Goldpanners he pitched 15 innings and gave up six earned runs and struck out 12. He was drafted 4th overall by the Chicago Cubs in 1987, and played eight seasons in the Majors.

Joe Martin

In 1942, Joe Martin became manager of the Bellingham (WA) Bells, and in 35 years as manager of the team led the Bells to 20 National Baseball Congress state championships, participating in the National tournament more than a dozen times and finishing third in 1940 and 1964. The National Baseball Congress named him “Sportsman of the Decade” for the 1950s, and he served as the Washington State NBC Commissioner in the 1950s, as well, before being named National NBC Manager of the Year in 1970. Joe also brought pro baseball to Bellingham, WA in the 1970’s with the Los Angeles Dodgers farm team, and then the Bellingham Mariners. The City of Bellingham, Washington named the baseball complex Joe Martin Field before he died in 1981, and Joe Martin Field is the current home of the Bellingham Bells, who play in the West Coast College League.

Josh Robertson

Josh Robertson played in eight NBC World Series throughout his career: for the Wichita Jets, Wichita-Derby Twins, Wichita Sluggers, Park City Cowboys, Wichita Titans, Haysville Angels, and the San Diego Stars. He went on to coach the Wichita Twins to three consecutive appearances in the NBC World Series before moving over to the management side. From 1999 – 2018, he served as Operations Manager, Stadium and Baseball Operations Manager, Tournament Director, Assistant General Manager, General Manager, President, and Consultant for the National Baseball Congress World Series. In addition, he served on the Boards for Hap Dumont Youth Baseball and USA Baseball. During that same period, he served as the Assistant GM and Co-GM for the Wichita Wranglers and President/GM for the Wichita Wingnuts.

Roy Smalley III

Roy Smalley played in the NBC from 1971 to 1973. Roy was a two-time All-American at shortstop with the Anchorage Glacier Pilots in 1972, and the Boulder Collegians in 1973. In 1971, he was named to the National Tournament Honor Roll and appeared in 6 games to help the Boulder Collegians finish 4th. In 1972, he played in 8 games, going 11-for-25 with 8 runs scored and was again named to the National Tournament Honor Roll as the Glacier Pilots finished second overall. Smalley returned to the World Series in 1973 with Boulder, leading the tournament in both extra base hits and homeruns. The Collegians were the best offensive team in 73’ as they finished 4th led by Smalley’s bat. After his NBC career, he went on to play for 13 seasons in the Major Leagues, with the Texas Rangers, New York Yankees, Chicago White Sox and retired with the Minnesota Twins. He was selected as a shortstop for the American League All-Stars in 1979.

As a part of their induction the Hall of Famers were presented with custom ring boxes made by local Wichita-based Ten Work Fabrication, made out of handcrafted black walnut with custom engraved brass with the original NBC logo and their name and year of induction.

A complete list of NBC Hall of Fame members can be found at: https://nbcbaseball.com/nbc-hall-of-fame/.

  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners

Share This