pence Archives - NBC Baseball Skip to content

Call: (316) 265-6236

NBC Baseball
300 N Mead Ste 109
Wichita, KS 67202
Get Directions

NBC Announces Hunter Pence as the 2015 Graduate of the Year

GOY Graphic

WICHITA, KS The National Baseball Congress announces San Francisco Giants and former Liberal BeeJay Hunter Pence as the 2015 National Baseball Congress Graduate of the Year.

NBC World Series Graduate of the Year is awarded based on the previous season stats. In 2014 Pence helped lead the San Francisco Giants to a franchise eighth World Series title. During the season Pence hit a .277 average with 20 homeruns, 180 hits and 74 RBIs. Including a career high for the post season .444 batting average, one homerun and five RBIs in the Major League World Series. Runner up in voting was Detroit Tigers and former Liberal BeeJay, Ian Kinsler.

During the summer of 2003, Pence played for the Liberal BeeJays of the Jayhawk League. During his lone season with the BeeJays, the left fielder was named the team?s MVP after an incredible season. Pence led the team with a .429 average, four triples, seven home runs, 39 RBIs, 61 hits, 48 home runs and was second on the team with 12 doubles. At the NBC World Series Pence, batted .500 in three games and tallied two RBIs and a .714 slugging percentage.

In the spring of 2007, Pence made his major league debut in center field for the Houston Astros. Even with an injury shortened season Pence was still unanimously selected to the Major League Rookie All-Star Team. From that day on Pence has proven to be an asset to each team he goes to.

In a big league career that began in 2007, the 32-year old Pence has batted .284 with 187 home runs, 702 RBIs and has appeared in three All-Star games. He also features a career slugging percentage of .471.

In the 2015 MLB season Pence has had to battle back from an injury to his left forearm. Pence has seen action in 18 games, and he has been hitting .282 while hitting two homeruns and 13 RBIs.

The Graduate of the Year Award has been given out since 1975 and past award recipients include Tony Gwynn, Joe Carter, Dave Winfield, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Albert Pujols, Tim Lincecum, Mark Teixeira, and Alex Gordon.

The 81st Annual National Baseball Congress World Series begins in Wichita, KS on Friday, July 24th with a National Champion crowned on Saturday, August 8th. For more information visit or call the NBC Office at 316-977-9400.

View Printable PDF

  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners

Share This