National Baseball Congress Watch Games Live
call National Baseball Congress Subscribe to our NewsLike Our Facebook PageNBC Baseball TwitterWichita Baseball
NBC World Series

National Baseball Congress Hall of Fame

In 1990, after 55 years of great players, managers and administrators for the National Baseball Congress, the Rich family, who had purchased the NBC in 1986, decided to begin recognizing some of the great contributors to the NBC legacy by creating the "National Baseball Congress Hall of Fame."

The first NBC tournament was a huge risk on his part, as similar tournaments had failed miserably on both coasts.

The inaugural class was selected and inducted during the 1991 NBC World Series in Wichita, KS. It was much harder to decide whom not to include than whom to include among the first 12 inductees. The class was led by the legendary Leroy "Satchel" Paige, who won the first NBC title with his pitching prowess and his Bismarck, ND, Corwin-Churchill barnstorming, integrated ball club. Paige still holds the NBC record with 60 strikeouts in one tournament and a 4-0 record!

Also a can't-miss selection was NBC founder Raymond "Hap" Dumont, who in 1934 convinced the City of Wichita to build Lawrence-Dumont Stadium in order to host a national tournament. The first NBC tournament was a huge risk on his part, as similar tournaments had failed miserably on both coasts. Paige, and support from the local media and the national publication The Sporting News, helped make the tournament an instant success.

A complete list of Hall of Fame inductee's follows, complete with the year they were inducted. Many are household names. Some are remembered only by those who have followed the progress of the NBC over the years.

Inaugural Class of 1991

  • Bob Boone
  • Joe Carter
  • Chris Chambliss
  • Raymond "Hap" Dumont
  • Ron Guidry
  • Whitey Herzog
  • Ralph Houk
  • Billy Martin
  • Rick Monday
  • Bauldie Moschetti
  • Satchel Paige
  • Allie Reynolds
  • Tom Seaver
  • Don Sutton
  • Dave Winfield

Class of 1992

  • Larry Davis
  • Dick Sanders
  • Ozzie Smith

Class of 1993

  • Roger Clemens
  • Bert Wells

Class of 1994

  • Graig Nettles
  • Daryl Spencer
  • Bob Sullivan

Class of 1995

  • Bob Gadberry
  • Al LaMacchia
  • Arnold "Jug" Thesenga

Class of 1996

  • Carl Lewton
  • "Howie" Minas
  • Harry "The Hat" Walker

Class of 1997

  • Bobby Boyd
  • Randall "Dee" Hubbard
  • "Scoop" Nunes

Class of 1998

  • Bobby Bragan
  • Bob Broeg
  • Leo Mashak

Class of 1999

  • H.A. "Red" Boucher
  • Mark McGwire
  • Ralph Winegarner

Class of 2000

  • John Olerud
  • Dian Overaker
  • Kirk Vuscko

Class of 2001

  • Barry Bonds
  • Joe Garagiola
  • Rafael Palmeiro

Class of 2002

  • Jim Dietz
  • Tony Gwynn
  • Leonard Kelley
  • Jack O'Toole

Class of 2003

  • Merl Eberly
  • Kirk Gibson
  • Grier Jones
  • Buck O'Neil

Class of 2004

  • Don Dennis
  • Mark Grace
  • "Baseball" Bill Gwinup
  • Carl Kentling

Class of 2005

  • Sonny Cashion
  • Bob Cerv
  • Will Clark
  • Harold Pyatte

Class of 2006

  • J.D. Schneider
  • Steve Shaad
  • Von Hayes
  • Robin Ventura

Class of 2007

  • Robert E. Rich, Jr.
  • Melinda R. Rich
  • Herb Hess
  • Arnold Ashley
  • Andy Teter

Class of 2008

  • Jess Bolen
  • Mike Dean
  • Burt Hooton
  • Dave Kingman

Class of 2009

  • Betty Abbott 
  • Mike Hargrove
  • Paul Roberts 

Class of 2010

  • Bob Carlile
  • Terry Elliot
  • Jerry Squires

Class of 2011

  • Barry Aden
  • Bob Considine
  • Dick "Chief" Twyman
  • George "Lefty" Van Brunt

Class of 2012

  • Dennis Mattingly
  • Bill "Spaceman" Lee
  • Joe Maddon

Class of 2013

  • Bob Steinkamp
  • Dick Casidy
  • Lance Berkman

Class of 2014

  • Gene Stephenson
  • Steve Kemp
  • Bill Pintard
  • Jerry Taylor
  • John Farrell